Norwegian version of this page

Frequently Asked Questions

Zotero is missing in Word

If the Zotero tab is not automatically added to Word/LibreOffice upon installation, you can add it in several ways:

Solution 1 (Windows and Mac):

  1. Close / exit Word.
  2. In Zotero, go to Edit> Preferences> Cite> Word Processors 
  3. Click on Install Microsoft Word Add-in / Reinstall Microsoft Word Add-in
  4. If this does not work, you can download the Zotero application again without needing to uninstall it first.
  5. If this still does not work, try solution 2 (Windows) or 3 (Mac).

Solution 2 (Windows):

  1. In Word, go to File> Options> Customize Ribbon and check Developer in the right-hand column, then click OK.
  2. Next, go to File> Options> Add-ins in Word.
  3. Check that you have the file Zotero.dotm in active application add-ins. If you have Zotero.dotm there, proceed to step 7.
  4. If Zotero.dotm is missing, go to the option Manage (at the bottom of the window), select Templates and click on Go...
  5. Check Zotero.dotm and click on OK. If Zotero.dotm is not on the list, click Add... and locate Zotero.dotm.
    This file is located where you installed Zotero on your machine, typically:
    C:/Program Files (x86)/Zotero/Extensions/zoteroWinWordIntegration@zotero.org/install
    Select Zotero.dotm, then click Open and then OK.
  6. In Word, go to File> Options> Trust Center and click on Trust Center Settings.
  7. Under Add-ins, ensure that Require application add-ins to be signed by a trusted publisher and Disable all Application Add-ins are not checked.
  8. Under Macro Settings, select Disable all macros with notification.
  9. Restart Word.

Solution 3 (Mac):

  1. Update to Word 2016 or later and restart Word. As a student at UiO, you can login to MS 365 here.
  2. If the Zotero tab is missing, go to Word> Preferences> View.
  3. Under Ribbon, check Show Developer tab.
  4. Go to the Developer tab> Word Add-ins and check if the file Zotero.dotm is there and checked.

How do I get Zotero in Google Docs?

To access Zotero in Google Docs, you need to install the Zotero Connector.

  1. Install the Zotero Connector, and reopen Google Docs.
  2. If you have installed the Connector but Zotero does not appear, try uninstalling and then reinstalling it. Then reopen Google Docs.
  3. In Google Docs, right-click on the Connector in your browser and select This will read and change site data and click On docs.google.com. Reopen Google Docs.
    Note: The Connector setting must be set to On all sites to download references to Zotero.

How can I transfer references from EndNote to Zotero?

If you already have an EndNote library that you want to use in Zotero, you can transfer the references:

  1. In EndNote, select the references you want to export to Zotero. 
  2. Go to File> Export...
  3. Navigate to the location on your PC/Mac where you have saved your EndNote library and open the data folder (.Data) with the same name as the library. Here you will find the folders PDF and sdb already.
  4. Select File type XML and Output style Refman (RIS) Export, then click Save.
  5. In Zotero, go to File> Import..., select A file and click on Next.
  6. Locate the file you created in step 4 via EndNote and click Open.
  7. Select whether you wish to place the imported files in a new group or not.
  8. Click Next and then Finish.

The references are now transferred to Zotero, along with attachments.

If you have organized your references in folders in Endnote you need recreate the folders in Zotero and transfer the references from each folder separately.

How do I get more storage space in Zotero Web Library?

Zotero is free to use, but the storage space for your online library is limited to 300 MB. If you have many PDF attachments to the references, this storage space fills up quickly.

Use Zotero Storage via UiO

UiO has an agreement for unlimited storage with Zotero, which you can use as a student or employee at UiO. When you create a Zotero account, you must add your UiO email address (username@uio.no) to take advantage of this storage. You can set your UiO email either as a primary address or as a secondary address.

Do you want to turn off synchronisation of attachments to the Zotero Web Library?

  1. In Zotero, go to Edit> Preferences> Sync.
  2. Under File Syncing, uncheck Sync attachments in My Library using Zotero.
  3. Uncheck Sync attachments in group libraries using Zotero storage if you do not want to sync attachments of references in shared groups.

How can I set organisations as authors?

Select the relevant reference in Zotero and go to Info in the right panel. Hover over the author field, and a small grey box will appear.

The author field can be customised by clicking on this grey box to either two fields (for surname and first name) or one field (for organisations). 

How do I get the URL in article references?

Windows:

  1. In Zotero, go to Edit> Preferences> Cite.
  2. Under Citation Options, check Include URL for printed articles in citations.

Mac:

  1. In Zotero, click on Zotero (logo at the top left)> Preferences.
  2. Under Citation Options, check Include URL for printed articles in citations.

Why can't I find the item type 'web page'?

When you add a webpage via the Connector, it is automatically added as Web Page in Zotero. However, if you want to manually add a webpage in Zotero, the item type Web Page is missing. Here are some suggestions:

  1. Create a new reference with another item type, such as Article in Encyclopedia.
  2. Select the new reference and go to Info in the right-hand column. 
  3. Change the item type to Web Page.
  4. You can now fill in all necessary information about the webpage (title, author, date, URL, access date, ...).

How do I move references between LibreOffice, Google Docs, and Word?

If you open a text document with active Zotero references in a different word processor (Word, LibreOffice, Google Docs) than the one you created them in, they will lose their link to Zotero.

To keep active references when moving between word processors, use the function Switch to a Different Word Processor…, which you can find in the Zotero tab under Document Preferences.

For a detailed procedure on the word processors you wish to move references between, see Zotero's documentation.

Published Apr. 11, 2025 10:08 AM - Last modified Aug. 25, 2025 1:50 PM